Quick Access Menu ☰
Contrast: On/ Off       Text Size: A A A

Sisters of St Ann

  • SSA TreeOver a century of dedicated service to Catholic education has earned the Sisters of St. Ann - St. Joseph’s Community the prestigious 2020 Justice James Higgins Award.

    Throughout their illustrious history, the sisters have worked tirelessly in education, healthcare, pastoral ministry, spiritual accompaniment and social justice across Canada. Established in 1850 to meet the educational needs of poor families, the Sisters of St. Ann St.- Joseph’s Community began in Quebec and soon migrated west to Victoria, British Columbia. Before long, they set up schools and ministries across the Pacific Northwest.

    In memory of a distinguished Canadian jurist and Catholic School Trustee, the Honourable Justice James Higgins (1913-1974) of St. John's, Newfoundland, the Board of Directors of CCSTA annually presents an award to a person or group that has made an outstanding contribution to Catholic education in Canada. The Justice James Higgins Award is the highest honour provided by CCSTA. It reflects recognition of an exceptional contribution to Catholic education in this country.

    Sister Marie Zarowny expressed her gratitude for the annual award on behalf of the Order.

    “This award recognizes the often hidden and very challenging efforts of hundreds of Sisters throughout 162 years,” explains Sr. Marie Zarowny. “Those who came before us lived with enormous hardship and their faith, trust and commitment has been phenomenal. We were very surprised and at the same time pleased, humbled and grateful.”

    The Annie’s, as they are affectionately called by their friends, recognized the power of Catholic education and mobilized to help the underserved before it was mainstream.