Quick Access Menu ☰
Contrast: On/ Off       Text Size: A A A

In memory of a distinguished Canadian jurist and Catholic School Trustee, the Honourable Justice James Higgins (1913-1974) of St. John's, Newfoundland, the Board of Directors of CCSTA annually presents an award to a person or group that has made an outstanding contribution to Catholic education in Canada. The Justice James Higgins Award is the highest honour provided by CCSTA. It reflects recognition of an exceptional contribution to Catholic education in this country.

  Read more about the Nomination Process & Criteria for the Higgins Award  


Past Recipients of the Higgins Award
The Sisters of St. Ann - St. Joseph's Community British Columbia 2020
Tony Sykora Alberta 2019
Sr. Teresita Kambeitz Saskatchewan 2018

Most Rev. Bishop F. Henry

Alberta 2017

Kevin Kobus

Ontario 2016
Dr. Bonaventure Fagan Newfoundland 2015
Kevin Feehan Alberta 2014
Greg McNally Ontario 2013
Regis O'Connor Ontario 2012
Norm Bethune Ontario 2011
Patrick J. Daly Ontario 2010
Archbishop Joseph N. MacNeil Alberta 2009
Julian Paslawski Saskatchewan 2008
Louise Ervin Ontario 2007
Thomas E. Owens Saskatchewan 2006
Dr. John J. Flynn Ontario 2005
Joan Cronin g.s.i.c. Ontario 2004
Lois Burke-Gaffney Alberta 2003
Dennis Wasylyniuk Manitoba 2002
Msgr. Dennis Murphy Ontario 2001
Dorothy Fortier Saskatchewan 2001
Institutes of Consecrated Life of Canada   2000
Archbishop Marcel Gervais Ontario 1999
Wendelin Herle Saskatchewan 1998
Fr. Thomas Mohan Ontario 1997
Gerry Fallon Newfoundland 1996
Bishop James Mahoney Saskatchewan 1995
Archbishop Adam Exner British Columbia 1994
Mike Van Adrichem British Columbia 1993
Rev. Raymond Durocher, O.M.I. Ontario 1992
Chris Asseff Ontario 1991
Mrs. Yolande Gagnon Alberta 1990
Philip Hammel Saskatchewan 1989
C. Frank Furey Newfoundland 1988
Molly Boucher British Columbia 1987
Frank Chad Saskatchewan 1986
Rev. P.H. Fogarty, C.S.C. Ontario 1985
Joseph C. Stangl Manitoba 1984
B.E. Nelligan Ontario 1983
Brother Augustus F. Brennan Newfoundland 1982
Mr. Justice Emmett Hall Saskatchewan 1981
His Eminence, G.E. Cardinal Carter Ontario 1980
Rev. Clement Kindervater, O.M.I. Alberta 1979
Mr. Edward J. Brisbois Ontario 1978
Mr. Patrick J. Enright Ontario 1977
Dr. J. Martin Le Boldus Saskatchewan 1976
Mr. Justice James D. Higgins Newfoundland 1975